From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop button problems, among other things

Hi,

It's my first time posting and my first time using LabView, so sorry if this post is in the wrong section or missing details. Please let me know what is missing and I will do my best to fill in.

I've designed a program that controls a step motor as part of a spectrometer setup. I'm using the SCB-68 which is connected to a coaxial cable which goes to the detector. The motors are connected to a card that's in a PCI slot. One of the problems we've been having is the "scan" feature: if one accidentally inputs the wrong values for the scan and attempts to stop it, it works only if the data acquisition hasn't already started. If the data acquisition has started, one has to wait for the scan to complete. This is problematic, since some scans can take as long as 35 minutes. I'm not sure why the stop button doesn't work.

The logic behind the scan is: if at correct starting postion, start scan/data acquistion. If not, move to postion and start scan/data acquisition.

Also, we've found that when a number that was previously used to start a scan (say pos: 11000) is put into the same field on the front panel, the scan will automatically start without the user having pressed the "Scan" button. 

I've spent nearly 3 hours trying to wrap my head around why these things are happening, but I can't figure it out.

Thank you in advance

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(4,450 Views)

I'm missing a lot of SubVIs so it's hard to see what the program does, plus it looks pretty big.