From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop button does not reset after each start of program

Solved!
Go to solution

Newbie here, So when I start the program with the Ni start arrow, my start button is always in the correct position but the stop button is not. How do you reset the user contols to defaults like the stop button.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(6,042 Views)

It would be very helpful if you could upload your VI so we can see. If you mean that you have a "stop button" on your VI (not the red stop sign abort button, which should never be the designed end of your program), then it is possible that you want a different latching mechanism. If you have it set to "switch when pressed" then it will not return to its original state after being read. If you set it to "latch when pressed" then it will return to it's original state. If you really need it set to "switch when pressed" then you could set its value to False at the beginning of your program through a local variable, but it's better to find a solution where latching works in my opinion.

Edit: I don't know if you had that attachment and I just missed it, or if you added it after my post. Either way, could you post for LV 2012 or sooner? You can do this using File >> Save for previous...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(6,038 Views)

Wrong mechanical action on your stop button.

It should be "Latch WHEN Released".  You have it "Latch UNTIL Released".

Also, I don't understand all of your boolean logic for that button, the feedback node, and the start button.  Just wire up the Stop button to the Stop terminal of the loop.  Get rid of everything else around it.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 18
(6,030 Views)

Hi rr,