LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting a timer based off voltage difference

Hello!

I am very new to LabView and I am struggling to get started on a project. My project is to build a ramp and run a car down the ramp. While the car goes down the ramp I will have lasers and photo resistors to measure the car's time stamps. From there I will get velocity, acceleration, and position. 

The problem is I have yet to find a LabView function that will start recording the time the moment my first photo resistor's resistance drops due to the car blocking the laser. 

Someone in person recommended Elapse Time in Express Via, but I am trying to collect as much information as I can on the subject. I am open to different approaches to this problem if anyone has a different method. 

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,972 Views)

Not knowing what hardware you are using... and assuming you have all of the sensors running into multiple channels of a DAQ device...

Just start a continuous acquisition before the car starts and then analyze the acquired data to locate the first sample of the sensor in question is blocked and use the time of that sample as "t0".

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,947 Views)

Assume all hardware is working correctly. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(2,933 Views)

@JSteakIII wrote:

Assume all hardware is working correctly. 

That is assumed.  What is not known is how you are getting the voltage reading into LabVIEW.

If you are using DAQmx you can probably use a triggered acquisition (Depends on what DAQ device is used)

If you are using something else you may be able to switch states from "Idle" to "Recording" based on the input.

Since we don't know what the hardware is we can't give you more specific advice.  Glad to hear its working though!