LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

“Sorensen Error Query.vi”, code -1074003951

I am a complete novice to LabVIEW, I have a couple of Sorensen DLM power supplies that are controlled by GPIB.  These get errors like “Sorensen Error Query.vi”, code -1074003951 and VISA Write in Sorensen Read voltage output.vi->PDFT 150V RevA1.vi.  I am trying to figure out if this is a hardware or software issue, then how to fix if it is a software issue.

Sometimes the program runs for 8 hours without error sometimes 30+, but need it to run without faulting for a longer time.

Thanks for any input,

MKroll

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,045 Views)
Hi. I dont know what the errors are, but it may be accepable to ignore the occasional error. Rather than exiting your application or throwing an error dialogue, you could try silently logging the error and re-initialising the instrument. This is worth considering although not always possible. Make sure you can detect a real problem such as rapidly repeated errors. The next step is to try and find the actual source of the error and fix it, this could be tricky as it is infrequent.
All the best. Michael
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,018 Views)

Ignore the occasional error??? You're suggesting he settle for buggy code? What in the world?

Maybe today the error is infrequent, but if right after you go live conditions change so the program freaks out once an hour, what are you going to do then? And it doesn't even meet his (relaxed) specs now.

We can't advise anything about your code without seeing it (the VI itself, NOT a picture), and if you could also attach the LV drivers (or subVIs) for the power supplies, so we could see how it fits into the picture, it should help.

Cameron

To err is human, but to really foul it up requires a computer.
The optimist believes we are in the best of all possible worlds - the pessimist fears this is true.
Profanity is the one language all programmers know best.