cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simultaneous analog input and output

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I have a cDAQ-9178, with modules NI 9263 and NI 9205. I am trying to read a variable waveform (from a hall effect sensor), do some basic filtering or alterations, and then output that new waveform as fast as physically possible. 

I need some help to determine if a) This is possible b) How to do it.

I have attatched my VI snippet (relatively new to Labview and these forums so let me know if I did something wrong). I have tried a few dozen alterations to it, and since Im self taught I'm sure there are some glaring mistakes, but I really need help getting this to work at the same time.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(6,691 Views)

The glaring mistake I see is that you have write task executing at 20 kHz, while the read task is only occurring at 15 kHz.  Seems to me that they should be  the same rate.

How simultaneous to you expect or need "simulataneous" to be?  Because of your 100 millisecond metronome in the loop, You will likely have at least a 1/10th second delay from the input to the output.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(6,665 Views)

Thanks for that, I fixed the rates. I know I cant expect actual "simultaneous" - my arbitrary waveforms will be on the order of 100 to 200 hz, and It is acceptable to have the signal lag behind by a small (less than 5 degree? unsure yet) phase difference. I can lower the metronome in the loop (or remove and place with a tiny wait function).

The main problem is simply that I keep getting errors like error -200452, where I can't write since there is an empty buffer. I've tried to add in "configure output buffer", but I can't figure out how to do so and actually have the program output anything. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(6,648 Views)

@combo531 wrote: