From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simultaneous Analog Input and Output using myDAQ

Hello All!

Question I hope some of you may help guide me in. I am fairly new to LabVIEW and currently working on a project. I am using an analog waveform as an input and outputting that same analog output to display on a controller. For learning and practical purposes, I wish to have the analog input and analog output pretty much on top of one another displayed on the oscilloscope. I have successfully displayed both input and output on the oscilloscope, but there is a significant delay between the two. Can anyone provide any guidelines as to how to fine tune my number of samples and sampling frequency to gain optimal results? Also, my output signal is flashing on and off, am I doing something wrong? I apologize for the newbie questions, new here. Besides the Nyquist theorem, is there any other guidelines that must be followed? I plan on enrolling in a DSP Course next semester to learn all these nifty tricks.

Thanks all!

vjfids.JPG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(7,437 Views)

Hi alexponce!

First tip i can give you is ditch the Express-VIs. Instead try to work with the basic DAQ-functions.

The delay between your Signals might result from the serial execution of your VI. You first read the signal, then process it and then write to your DAQ. You might want to look up the Producer-Consumer Architecture, which allows parralel execution of read/write operations. That might get rid of your delay.