From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple VI for old gas analyser

Hi Guys,

I’m a complete newbie and I know this is a big ask but I’m trying to resurrect an old gas analyser. I need to write a small Labview  2014 program to log the outputs and I need some help to get started.

The analysers in the original life had four chart recorders attached and I can picked off the eight signals (suitable hardware will be bought if I can get this to work)

Each of the four analysers outputs 2 signals. Signal 1 is a voltage (0-10) that represents range as shown  below

Range

Low voltage

High Voltage

1 (4 ppm)

2 (10 ppm)

3 (40 ppm)

4 (100 ppm)

5 (400 ppm)

6 (1000 ppm)

7 (4000 ppm)

8 (10000 ppm)

The second signal is a 4-20 ma  which represents where you are within that range.  

This should give four outputs between 0ppm and 10000ppm and these signals then pass through simple K factor multiplier (ie divide by X) to give a corrected figure for the concentration of gas measured

Ideally the front panel would have two digital displays per channel (range and ppm) and one box to add the K factor.

The range + ppm + K factor would then be written to a suitable file on the hard drive.

Can anyone help with this 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,056 Views)

Hi bongo,

as a newbie you should take the beginner courses offered for free by NI on their website…

That being said: what have you tried so far? Can you attach your VI? (Nobody will do your work for you unless you hire them…)

- When you "round to nearest" your voltage you get the range. Use this to index an array of range factors.

- Convert your current reading to a value: current-factor = (current reading - 4) / 16 [all values in mA]