cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shift Register to read previous integer from array

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey folks,

Labview novice here asking about shift registers. I went through the tutorials and tried to find as much help as I could before posting, but I think I just don't understand shift register functions as clearly as I should. I need to read integers out of an array, and operate a new-old kind of situation to read the difference in steps between two stepper motor positions. I've attached a photo of what I have now, obviously does not work. I'm looking for any suggestions to do this, or any corrections to my logic.ShiftRegister.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,600 Views)

It looks like you just need to delete the feedback wire.  The shift register takes care of your feedback already.  The first shift register (upper register) will return the value that was just computed in your loop (same as feedback) and the lower one will return the value that was created 2 iterations ago. Hope that helps.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,593 Views)

(Please attach the actual VI instead of a blurry picture).

• What is the point of the inner FOR loops? Looks like they are just glorifiied flat sequence frames, right? Don't use loops unless you actually want to repeat something.
  • I think you want to autoindex the blue array and only use a shift register with a single left output. Now you get the current element from the autoindexing tunnel, which you can feed into the shift regsiter on the right. In the next iteration you get the next value from the autoindexing tunnel and the previous value from the shift register, etc.
  • Your feedback node got autoinserted (bad option!) because you created a cycle. Don't go in and out of the loop, simply use the scalar from the autoindexing tunnel.
  • Once you autoindex, you no longer need to wire the N of the outer FOR loop.