Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setting up an instrument

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I am trying to set up an ARGOS dc power supply 

http://www.tet.de/argos.html

I am connecting this device serially. I have installed the NI-VISA drivers. I have created an instrument driver for the power supply and have configured the serial configuration.

N

N

I am trying to get a response from the device. I have the device enabled to be controlled externally. However, when i run the application i get an error saying -1074003951 to complete the call chain so i input the visa resource name in Initialize.vi and output dc volts vi. Is this correct?

The ID Query failed.  This may mean that you selected the wrong instrument or your instrument did not respond.  You may also be using a model that is not officially supported by this driver.  If you are sure that you have selected the correct instrument and it is responding, try disabling the ID Query.

This is my first time with labview any advice very helpful

Damien

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(3,062 Views)

Well, if they provide a LabVIEW driver and you have VISA installed .....

Did they also provide a RS232 cable? What did the manual say?

Didi you choose the correct COM port?    (Search for 'loop back test' with the serial write read example found at HELP->Search examples->Hardware In out , serial basic (or advanced) serial write read.....

and...... you can call ARGOS and ask...

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1

“ground” is a convenient fantasy

'˙˙˙˙uıɐƃɐ lɐıp puɐ °06 ǝuoɥd ɹnoʎ uɹnʇ ǝsɐǝld 'ʎɹɐuıƃɐɯı sı pǝlɐıp ǝʌɐɥ noʎ ɹǝqɯnu ǝɥʇ'

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 27
(3,052 Views)

Just had a look at the manual...

check the jumper setting in the power supply, check if the cable is correct, Pin 2,3 and 5  and check that pin 2 and 3 are not swapped!! (standard error if you grab a cable that is flying around in the lab 😉

Greetings from Germany
Henrik

LV since v3.1