LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Set voltage ranges individually for 4 DAQ channels

I’m new to LabVIEW, and I’m changing an old program that does a data acquisition involving multiple physical channels.  The channels appear on the block diagram as a single wire, and currently, the maximum and minimum voltage range is between +/- 10 V, the same for each channel.  However, we need one of these channels to have a separate voltage range from the others.  Specifically, the first three should have a voltage range between +/- 10 V, and the last should have a range between +/- 1.25 V.  The physical channels are already configured from another program, so I don’t want to change anything that will change these configurations.  The physical channels enter a “DAQmx Create Virtual Channel” VI, where the max and min values are set to 10 and -10.  The "Create Virtual Chanel" VI already has some type of I/O going into the "task in" port, so I'm not sure if I'm able to change the task going into the VI either.  The two ways I was thinking of changing the program are:

1) Split the channel into multiple wires so I can access each physical channel individually and set the voltage range for each channel separately, or

2) Keep the 4 channels in the same wire, but set the maximum and minimum voltages to different values for each channel as the wire enters the “Create Virtual Channel” VI,

but I’m not sure how to do either one of these.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

TL;DR: How do I set voltage ranges individually for 4 channels without changing any other configurations?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,526 Views)

Just a bit more information: First, (to my knowledge) the wire doesn't necessarily hold 4 channels.  It can hold up to 4 channels, and the number of channels being held is specified by the user in the Front Panel.  But I think it usually will hold 4 channels.