LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Set up feedback control of function generator

Hello,

I use a function generator (Agilent 33210A) to drive a mechanical shaker with a pure sine wave. I have an accelerometer on the shaker that I monitor with an oscilloscope (Agilent DSO-X-2004A). I control the function generator, and monitor the oscilloscope, with LabVIEW. 

I am trying to set up a frequency sweep of the shaker while maintaining a constant acceleration RMS value. My shaker does not have a linear response, so the acceleration changes with frequency. I have downloaded the drivers for both instruments and have both instruments working ok with the example codes provided. However, since I am new to LabVIEW, I am having difficulty putting together the code I want. 

Each time I change the frequency I need to check the acceleration RMS value. From there I adjust the function generator output amplitude and check the new RMS value from the accelerometer signal. I can manually create this feedback loop, or I suppose I can use some kind of LabVIEW controller for better results? The speed is not so important to me because once I have the frequency and amplitude set where I want, another set of code will take measurements from devices I have on the shaker. Once those measurements are done, I move to the next frequency.

Any advice or tips on this issue are greatly appreciated. I will post screenshots of any milestones I reach, but right now it's a total mess.

- John

S

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,588 Views)

Right off the top of my head I would think that you won't need a feedback loop unless the shaker is both nonlinear and inconsistent. If the nonlinearity is repeatable all you might need to do is generate a lookup that corrects for the nonlinearity by adjusting amplitude as a function of frequency.

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."