cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial read byte order changing

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm new to Labview and I'm trying to read speed and torque from a Datum torque transducer via RS232. I need to read data as a 6 byte frame. I have followed the protocol provided by the manufacturer (first 3 bytes concatenated + some calculations give torque and 4 and 5th byte concatenated gives speed and the last byte provides the supply voltage at the torque transducer).

When I re-run my code, the order of the bytes keep changing. In two screenshots, I have attached a correct order (with 128 in the first byte). But sometimes when I run the code the order changes, so instead of going 0 1 2 3 4 5, it reads 3 4 5 0 1 2 (or something else), which ruins my calculations.

I have tried switching ON and OFF the Termination character and changing the flow control settings, but it either makes it worse or does no good. Forgive me for my lack of knowledge in Labview or basic serial communication.

I would appreciate any information on it. Thank you!

Regards,

DPac

Attachments:

1. Correct (expected) byte order

2. Wrong byte order

3. My vi

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(3,975 Views)

DPac,

First order of business is to determine if Term Char should be enabled or not.  Can you post a link to the communications manual for this transducer?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(3,961 Views)

Hi Wayne,

I didn't see that specified in the documentation. I have attached the same.

When I have the termination character set to False, the change in byte order occurs only once every 3-4 times of running the vi. But when I set it to True, the order changes every 1-2 times I run the code

Regards,

DPac

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(3,956 Views)

DPac,

Term Char should definitely be disabled.  I'm running an older version of LV so I can't look at your vi.  Can you save your vi for LV2010 and post it? 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(3,947 Views)

Hi Wayne,