LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sending text (ASCII) as binary code. Beginner.

Hello there LV-gurus.

My mission is basically being able to send information one bit at a time and since I have no background knowledge it is a tedious process figuring out how to do so. I'm not asking for complete solutions considering I want to actually learn it, but I am hoping I could get some pointers on what I should read up on or how to make this happen.

At my disposal I have a DAQmx, from which I hope to send binary information (or a digital wave) regulating a component that will basically just pass this information on to another (actually the same for now) DAQmx where I want to decode it back.

What I'm trying to do, but failing to understand how, is more or less this;

Convert ASCII to binary/digital wave. Here I've tried using the string to byte array but I'm having trouble to finding a way to use the values I get in the byte array.

How to incorporate a "start/stop listening" signal before/after sending the information.

I'm certain there is whole bunch of functions/procedures/whatnots I'm completely missing, so any help or friendly nudges in the right direction is much appriciated. My feeble attempts to scan through the plethora of instructions, help texts and posts relating to this matter has left me stumped.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,889 Views)

You cannot send data one bit at a time. The smallest datatype have units of bytes (8 bits). even a boolean takes up 8 bits.

I don't understand the rest of your post. What do you mean by "send". What is the transport mechanism (within the same VI, over ethernet, etc.)? Why do you need to start/stop listening? Who is the master?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,876 Views)

In this case "send" will essentially be regulating the voltage to a component enabling a light source reaching a photosensitive cell.