LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Send a notification or message to facebook

Hello. I'm a student of Electronic Engineer, i want to do a smart house project and the center of the processing will be labview. My problem is the next one: I want to send the alarm notification to a facebook account, i mean, i can send an email to an email address, but i want to send a notification or message to facebook. Is that possible? Any idea? thanks a lot for your help, i'll wait for an answer.. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,090 Views)

I would say that it would be difficult, it would involve some working around with Facebooks API and their messaging servers. From a quick search around I found this page about working with facebook chat client.

That would indicate that facebook chat runs of an XMPP based message server, and from within the forums found this thread that looks promising about the use of XMPP in laview, between the two of them you should be able to find a good place to start.

Happy hunting.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,084 Views)

You can send mail to them. It will appear to them in message.

Suppose user name is abcd.123

then you can send mail to abcd.123@facebook.com. You just need to work on sending emails from labview

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kudos are always welcome if you got solution to some extent.

I need my difficulties because they are necessary to enjoy my success.
--Ranjeet
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(3,069 Views)

Thanks for your quick answer... i'll try your words... facebook doesn't received emails anymore i think, because that didn'n work

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9
(3,050 Views)

First ensure you can send mail to gmail and other.  Once done using 123.456@facebook.com. If no error then you will definately receive the mail

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--Ranjeet