LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Selecting spreadsheet rows to expand by columb information

Hello everyone,

I am writing a number of rows of test data to a spreadsheet with a unique serial number in columb 1.  I need to revisit each row at a later stage to add additional test data to that row using the serial number as the reference. I also need to be able to extract test data from the spreadsheet by the serial number and columb number for further calculations.

I am pretty new to Labview and would appreciate any help. Ideally the help would be in the form of a simple VI.

Best regards,

Maiz

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,637 Views)

@Maiz wrote:

I am writing a number of rows of test data to a spreadsheet with a unique serial number in columb 1

How exactly are you writing the test data to the spreadsheet... manually or programmatically...?? You can share your code, make sure its saved in LabVIEW 2012 or any earlier version.

@Maiz wrote:

I also need to be able to extract test data from the spreadsheet by the serial number and columb number for further calculations.

You can read the entire data in 2D array of string format and then using Array functions can extract the data of interest.

I am not allergic to Kudos, in fact I love Kudos.

Make your LabVIEW experience more CONVENIENT.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,632 Views)

Hello Moderator 1983,

Thank you for your reply.

The test information will be read in from a digital scale via RS232. The scales will measure the weight of motor stators before and after the varnishing process. I have started on a simple program, please find attached. The knob is simulating the digital scale. As I mentioned I a beginner so my VI might not be the way forward.

Best regards,

Maiz

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,620 Views)

Ok, so after you are finished with data logging, you can use Read From Spreadsheet File VI and use its all rows output to access complete data.