cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Select between same devices (Amtron) at different IP address

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

I'm trying to work with Amtron CM100 Current sources for the first time. The manufacturer supplies "CM100DLL.dll" and when I configure "Call Library Function Node" I get three function options: Connect, Disconnect, and Reg Access. (I am not very experienced with library function nodes).

When I connect, I just send in the IP Address of the unit, but it does not output a reference. I'm used to having a different session for each instrument, does anyone know how I might control two of these units in the same program? Do I have to Connect and Disconnect every time I want to send a command?

Here is what the function nodes look like:

Function Call Nodes.png

Thank you for any ideas, and please let me know if I need to provide any more information. Thank you,

Gregory

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 17
(4,268 Views)

Can you provide the header file and any relevant documentation for the DLL? Possibly the return value from the Connect function is a reference that you then pass to the other functions, but there's no way to know from the information you've provided.

Message 2 of 17
(4,240 Views)

What should happen is either:

1) The DLL/function is thread safe and returns a reference which you then pass to subsequent calls, allowing you to address/communicate with multiple devices

2) The DLL/function isn't thread safe and the DLL itself actually holds the reference to the device in the DLLs memory space and can therefore only communicate with a single device

You have the DLL calls configured as thread-safe - but that might not be the correct way of calling the functions.