LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Search for a specific string from an excel sheet

Hi,

I created a License Plate Recognition software using labview, now after i extract the characters from the image, i need to scan for the string obtained from the OCR session from an excel file where the license plate characters are pre-entered. So i want the program to actually search within this excel sheet for the set of characters obtained from the image and if a match is found to give me a message telling me that this license plate is available in the excel sheet. And then i need to extract from the excel sheet some data regarding the car model and color, and etc... and display tem to the user.

The problem i am facing is that i am not able to do the task described above because i am new to LabVIEW programming and therefore do not have the exact knowledge to manupulate the functions and block diagrams to get the result needed.

So if anyone could be helpful it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Amin.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 40
(6,381 Views)

Two questions:

1. Is the "excel file" an .xls file or a deliminated text file?
  2. Is this project intended to be used by tax collectors to find people by passively scanning license plates?

Jim
You're entirely bonkers. But I'll tell you a secret. All the best people are. ~ Alice
For he does not know what will happen; So who can tell him when it will occur? Eccl. 8:7

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 40
(6,366 Views)

Hi Jim,

First thanks for replying, second no the project is not intended for tax collectors to passively scan for license plates(lol), it is intended for parking management in order to help security personnel to identify cars accessing the parking areas of a facility such a university parking area.