cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Save a Docx to doc

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am building a tool for our team. One of it's features should be the ability to change a docx file to doc, but so far I could not really figure out how to convert the file. I am using report generation toolkit for a few other features. 

I am not a pro in visual basic for aplications, but I made a macro that I insert and than remove with labview for an other purpose. So far I was not able to make a proper macro that saves the files as a doc withouth changing anything. 

Can someone recommend a solutiuon for this problem? Either a visual basic macro or a labview solution is fine or some guidence on how to solve it on my own. 

Much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,160 Views)

If you have the Report Generation Toolkit, it takes three functions.  Generate a New Report, specifying Excel, and specifying the specific .doc file as the template (which really just means the file that Excel opens at the start and modifies, rather than starting with a blank WorkBook).  Now do a Save Report, specifying the same file, but with the .docx extension, followed by Dispose Report to turn off Excel.  To maximize the speed of this operation, you can specify "Minimized" in the New Report function to prevent Excel from "opening its Front Panel".  Don't forget to wire through the Error and Report Object lines.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,159 Views)

The problem is that I already have a sort-of "template" document that I have to convert to doc if the extension is docx. The thing is, we get the files form an other department and some times they forget to change it to doc. There are other problems that we get these files and the tool has to correct it. Right now it corrects a lot of special characters that we do not allow in the documents etc. and than I dispose the report.