LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Samples to read option in DAQ

Hello,

I am new to signal processing and confused about the DAQ Assistance option "samples to read".

What I understand is about

Sampling rate indicates the samples read per second, I run my vi for a second and I got 10K samples when my sampling rate is 10k. Frequency resolution is also depend on this sampling rate and Samples to read.

My settings in DAQ Assistance are

continuous acquisition, Samples to read--1K, sampling rate--10K and I run my Vi for exactly one second and I got 10K samples but I am confused about "Samples to read". What it is exactly?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(7,811 Views)

Hi shjukheter,

In LabVIEW samples per channel attribute could have two performance, using continuous acquisition that attribute specify the DAQ buffer size. Using Finite Samples, that attribute specify the number of samples to acquire for each channel in the task.

In your case DAQmx don´t use that value in order to configure the buffer size, due using sampling rate-->10kS/s the minimum buffer size should be 100kS.

I hope this information will be helpfully.

Regards,

Hiram Hernandez

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(7,809 Views)

I did not understand quite but what happens if I do not write any thing on that box.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(7,805 Views)

You can't write "nothing" in that box. The value must be 1 or greater.

It is a bit confusing, because in Continuous Mode, it really isn't Samples to Read, it is a range of buffer sizes - which was described in the previous reply.

Check out the HELP >>> Buffer Size

How Is Buffer Size Determined?

Input Tasks