From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SNMP help please?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm brand new to SNMP although I have used LabVIEW a couple of times over the last few years. Right now I am developing an application to test power supplies. We are using a Dell G756N switched PDU to power each supply. I've tried a couple of approaches to controlling it, and SNMP is the most promising so far. During my research I came across ManageEngine's free MibBrowser and I was able to find the latest MIB in Dell's firmware download here. I have been able to communicate with the PDU and turn outlets on and off so far, but I really need to integrate the PDU control into the LabVIEW application to automate the testing. I came accross Mark Yedinak's SNMP communication library and his APC PDU examples, the latest of which I have found are in this thread.

I tried to make a VI to test the communication in LabVIEW using the OID I got from MibBrowser, but it returns an error code of 2, noSuchName. The PDU is set to use v1 of SNMP and both the public and private communities have write+ access. I have tried it with and without the leading period, but without any success. I am using LabVIEW 2013 64-bit. Could someone please look at the information below and see what I might be doing wrong or what direction to take to troubleshoot it?

Thanks,

Simon

MIB Object ID:

.iso.org.dod.internet.private.enterprises.dell.pdu.pdusub.hardware.rPDU.rPDUOutlet.rPDUOutletSwitched.rPDUOutletSwitchedControlTable.rPDUOutletSwitchedControlEntry.rPDUOutletSwitchedControlCmd

.1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10903.200.2.200.130.1.4.1.4.1 : {1 or 2}