LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running LabView 7.1 with PCI-6251 in Windows 7

Solved!
Go to solution

I am very new to Labview, and would appreciate any assistance on this issue.  I was tasked with solving it and while I have made some progress I have now hit a wall.

A computer with a PCI-6251 data capture card, some custom built (external) hardware and LabView 7.1 has been used for many years for a single, specific task, to do verification testing in a manufacturing environment.  The system works well and no additional features or functionality is required.

The computer failed and a new one with a PCI card slot was purchased to replace it.  Of course as a new PC it has Windows 7 and hardware drivers for XP don’t exist.  I therefore need to run LabView 7.1 on Windows 7 with a NI-DAQ card.

I installed the NI-DAQmx 9.5.1 driver and then installed LabView 7.1 (as discussed here).  The driver would not install if LabView was already installed since it gave the “unsupported on this version of windows error”.  MAX recognized the card, which it couldn’t when trying to use the 7.5 NI-DAQ driver.

Now LabView opens but when I try to run the .vi used for testing it complains of 19 missing sub .vis which I cannot locate and I can’t find on the old computer to try to point LabView towards.

I think something weird is occurring with trying to use the 9.5.1 driver with LabView 7.1.  Are there any suggestion or is there any advice on getting a PCI-6251 working with Labview 7.1 on a Windows 7 machine?   

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 19
(4,842 Views)

19 missing sub-vis is a big clue to us DAQ guys.  So is PCI 6251 (M-Series) and the phrase "Its been running for years on LabVIEW 7.1"