cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rolling average of 1D arrays

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone!

I am new to the fourms here and am having some difficulty writing a VI which allows me to compute a rolling average of a continuously sampled waveform (1D array).  

Here is my situation:  I am trying to write a VI that duplicates the AVERAGE mode of a Tektronix o-scope.  For example, I can run the scope in sample mode, then tell it to average 4 scans and it displays an average waveform.  I beleive this works by using a running summation average for the first three scans, then when it gets to the fourth, it changes to exponential averaging for the fourth.  Then I think it repeats, but I am not sure.  Here is a webpage from Tektronix:  http://www.tek.com/support/faqs/how-does-scope-calculate-average-when-you-are-ave-mode

I have been trying this for a few weeks to no avail.  Here is a VI I wrote which I thought was correct but it appears to be doing a simple smooth of the continuous rather than duplicating the o-scope's average function.  I will gladly take any suggestions.  Thanks in advance. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 25
(8,756 Views)

Maybe you could just use mean ptbypt?

(It just averages the last four point. Look at the code inside, maybe you can modify it so it is more similar to the tektronix averager. I hanve't studies your link yet))

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 25
(8,736 Views)

Hi altenbach, 

Thanks for the suggestion.  Mean ptbypt will not work for this application, as my input data is a 1D array and not a double precision number.  I have not seen a way to use 1D arrays with the mean ptbypt VI.  If you know a way, please let me know.  My LV coding skills are not great, so example VI's would certainly be helpful.  

Let me know if/when you take a look at the link I sent.  I will keep chugging on it and I will post a VI when I am comfortable.  Thanks for all the help - I am very appreciative.  

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 25
(8,691 Views)