LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Roadmap to a Guitar tuner

Hello LabVIEW Community,

As the subject say i need help to program an acoustic guitar tuner. And by help I mean a lot help because i am relatively new to LabVIEW  (version 2015 SP1) and to the concepts this software brings.

At the moment the surface of the VI is nearly finished and I wouldn’t like to change it a lot. (For the guitar players: Yes the design is heavily based on the KORG GA30 guitar tuner.)

The main concept of the program is that I constantly record the sound with my integrated laptop microphone, then a FFT should separate the frequencies and the program choose automatically the right chord and tell when its tuned right.

Functions I want to implement:

-Start/Stop button  let u begin/end the  recording/tuning and will not end the program itself (To end the Program u go to the Menu > Stop)

-The scale should automatically change the frequencies scale  according to the cord

-In the menu u can change the cord to the one u want (Menu > Choose note >Acoustic guitar > E, A, D…)

-The LEDs light up if you are near the right tuning

-rest of the buttons are placeholders right now but maybe i can implement them later

Right now I need some kind of roadmap what to do first and what I can do later because I’m lost at the moment and don’t know how to go on. I don’t want a ready program but it would be nice if you tell me the techniques i need and i search for examples and tutorials so I can understand how it works for myself.

Sorry for bad English, i am not a native English speaker

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,403 Views)

Congratulations in an interesting choice of "Learning LabVIEW" projects -- this sounds like something where you have a good understanding of what you want to accomplish and are looking for "high-level" (or "design") help.