LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Report Generator MS Excel Add Worksheet with template

Solved!
Go to solution

I’m attempting to open a specific Excel template using the Report Generator toolkit. I also need to add Excel worksheets with blank templates depending on how many sample will be tested. The initial worksheet loads with the template. The issue I’m running into is when I add a new worksheet the added worksheets are blank. I attached a copy of the Excel template along with a test VI. This will be used in a larger Object Oriented program that is being modified. This is my first time using the Report Generator toolkit so I assuming I’m missing something. I did browse through the forums but didn’t see anything specific to what I need.

Thx,

Allen

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(5,616 Views)

I have Good News and Bad News, and I don't know which is which!  Here are some random loosely-connected Facts:

• Excel Templates (.xltx) are not exactly what LabVIEW means by a RGT "template (empty)" on New Report -- this input is much more like the existing file for File Open.
  • In Excel, you can set a Sheet Template that will be used every time you do (in Excel) New Worksheet.  This template needs to live in the XLSTART folder, by default (in Windows 7) in <User>/AppData/Roaming/Microsoft/Excel/XLSTART, and must be named Sheet.xltx.
  • If you copy your  Sample_DataSheet.xltx to this folder and rename it to Sheet.xltx, you do, indeed, generate new Worksheets that match the template.
  • Because all of these files and folders can be manipulated by LabVIEW, you could write a LabVIEW Utility to replace the default Sheet.xltx (by default, there is no such sheet) with your own sheet.