LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Referenced Parameters in C library not working on Compact RIO

High level 

I want to use Google Protobuf on my Compact RIO.  I have it 90% of the way there and running into issues.

Details

I'm a long time C++ developer who's newish to LabVIEW.  I'm using C to create a cross-compiled library to use on a Compact RIO (9025) with LabVIEW code.  I'm using Linux (Ubuntu 14.04.1) with a VxWorks toolchain and CMake to create the library.  I copy it over manually (looking for a better solution to that here), call it from LabVIEW via a Call Library Function, and assuming I'm doing simple things it works great!  Here's a quick sample of what I have that works:

My C code

extern "C" double addNums(double in1, double in2)
{
    return in1 + in2;
}

extern "C" double multNums(double in1, double in2)
{
    return in1 * in2;
}

Which I cross compile to a VxWorks binary and copy over to the cRIO.

Then on the LabVIEW side, I have this.

lvAddnums.png

I run it on the target cRIO and all works great.

I mentioned protobuf.  Cross compiling the full blown protobuf library for VxWorks proved to be a near (if not 100%) impossible task.  So I found and am using Nanopb.  I'm able to cross compile and get the following code using Nanopb to actually run on the cRIO and spit out the expected response:

extern "C" double testPbuf()
{
    uint8_t buffer[128];
    size_t message_length;
    bool status;

std::ofstream file;
    file.open("testOutput.bin", std::ios::out | std::ios::binary);

//! Create a message
    {
        ExampleMsg message;
        message.value = 13;
        pb_ostream_t stream = pb_ostream_from_buffer(buffer, sizeof(buffer));
        status = pb_encode(&stream, ExampleMsg_fields, &message);
    }

//! Decode the message
    {
        ExampleMsg message;
        pb_istream_t stream = pb_istream_from_buffer(buffer, message_length);
        status = pb_decode(&stream, ExampleMsg_fields, &message);