From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reference to control on main front panel fails when subvi front panel is closed?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I'm experiencing an odd bug. In my code, I use a subvi to control a piece of hardware. This subvi has controls for all of the functions of my hardware.

I'm changing the value of one of these controls from my main front panel by running a reference to a knob on my main front panel into the subvi, grabbing the value of the knob with a property node, and then updating the value of the subvi control using a signaling property node.

This works fine when my subvi front panel is open but fails to work at all when the subvi front panel is closed.

I'm new to labview , so any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Arpan

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,003 Views)

Hi Arpsy,

you should not use references like that. There are other methods to transport data between parallel loops like FGVs/AEs, User defined events, notifiers, queues, ActorFramework, and even global variables…

Nevertheless: show your VIs (or simplified version of them) to demonstrate the problem!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,994 Views)

What is your LabVIEW version?

Front panels that are not shown are typically not updated and might not even be loaded into memory.

The presence of certain code elements (e.g. property nodes) often forces the front panel to be in memory even if it is not shown, but I haven't studied it in a long time so there might be subtleties. Maybe somebody from NI can give more details.

If it does not work unles the FP is open, open the front panel minimized to avoid distraction.