LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reconstructing signal from FFT

Hi folks,

I am new to labview, and presently working on signal processing and analysis. I have a time domain signal, so i want from a frequency averaged time domain signal, i.e i convert my signal to frequency domain and average it there and do inverse transorm of the averaged signal.

So using above, i tried to use FFT and Inverse FFT for time being to see whether i get the time domain signal back from the freqency domain signal or not. But what i got was not what i wanted. 

Original Time domain ----------(FFT)----------Frequency domain----------(Inverse FFT)-----------Obtained time domain

I am attaching my VI here. Please help me figure out this, that why is my original time domain signal and obtained time domain signal are not same

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,393 Views)

Use the matching FFT function and it should work.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(4,377 Views)

This is expected behavior. As you are NOT using the same functions for FFT and inverse FFT (read: the mathematical representation), the signal has to differ.

Instead of using the function, which already uses averaging and windowing, you should use the FFT.vi for transform:

fft.PNG

This will result in a very close signal as inverse FFT as you fed into the FFT.

Norbert

Norbert
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CEO: What exactly is stopping us from doing this?
Expert: Geometry
Marketing Manager: Just ignore it.
Message 3 of 12
(4,376 Views)

Thank you Norbert, 

Actually i wanted a Frequency averaged time domain signal sir. So i wanted o use to use this block. Here i didnt wire anything to averaging parameter of the FFT block so, at present by default it is not averaging. 

And sir if i use the FFT block u mentioned above how will i have go for frequency averaging.

Regards

Rex

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(4,368 Views)