LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommend NI products for my application (controlling several instruments at once)

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to Labview,  currently using only the trial version.      There's money in my budget to buy some control software but I need to qualify my needs.

What I'm looking to do is control several pieces of test equipment as a single system, allowing me to perform automated measurements on conventional

and digital two way radios.

Here is the list of equipment that I want to control:

First, my controller is a Rohde & Schwarz PSL 3.   Fully GPIB enabled and ready.  It's the PC that the control software will reside on.

Equipment:

Rohde & Schwarz FSEA 30 spectrum analyzer with option B7 digital modulation analysis package

Second FSEA 30, same configuration

R&S AMIQ4 I/Q modulation generator (Files for it generated from software residing on the PSL3)

R&S SMY 02 analog signal generator

Agilent E4431B analog/digital signal generator

Agilent E4406A spectrum analyzer/digital radio test set

Agilent E4418B RF power meter with sensor

General Dynamics R2670B service monitor

A typical application will be to perform a conventional radio test on a VHF or UHF analog channel.    

The idea is to enter the transmit and receive frequencies via Labview or whatever software is best suited for the job, as well as modulation parameters,

and have the following things happen:  Assume a working frequency of 150.000 MHz with an FM modulated 1 KHz audio tone modulated at 2.5 KHz deviation

total, with subaudible tone of 127.3 Hz at a deviation of 300 Hz

Receiver test phase: Send instrument control commands to Agilent E4431B signal generator.   Set level to -60 dBm.  Set frequency to 150.000 MHz.  Set

audio tone 1 to 1 KHz and audio tone 2 to 127.3 Hz at a level of 8 pecent of tone 1.  Total deviation not to exceed 2.5 KHz.      Inject test signal into RX port

on radio.