LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Real Time Graphing from Com Port Data

I am creating a school project in which power consumption data is graphed in real time.  I started by using a "continuous read write" example vi, and added on to it so it converts ASCII to hex and decimal as well.  So far when i send a character from my MSP430 to the COM port via Xbees, labview reads in the character and converts it to hex and decimal correctly.  I would like to set this up so that I can send a stream of Hex values (Power Consumption Data), and have labview plot this data in real time.  I have attached my vi so far.  I am brand new to labview, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 39
(3,324 Views)

I don't have 2014 installed yet, but I'd be willing to take a look if you save this as a previous version to 2012.

Bruce K

Not as smart as many other peepz on here....
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 39
(3,305 Views)

Just use a Chart and wire it up to your numeric output.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 39
(3,298 Views)

I think i converted it to 2012 version.  Let me know if it is still in 2014

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 39
(3,276 Views)

I changed a couple of things in your loop.  First, the way it was before, if you chose to write a command, it would write that command every 5 mS until you could turn the Write off.  It's now event driven, where if you click write, it will write the command every time you click.  I put the read loop in a timeout state timed at 5mS.  So, if Read is enabled, and you don't write any commands to it, data will be read and displayed every 5 ms.  Otherwise, the timeout case does nothing, but pass data back to the beginnging of the loop.