LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading tag values through DDE into VB

I've got this VB application that currently uses DDE to communicate with WonderWare to retrieve system info (ie when a VB button is pressed, it captures a snapshot of WonderWare tag values).  The software is being upgraded and implemented in LV (using 7.1 if that matters).

What application|topic would be required to grab this from LV tag engine?  (or how do I go about determining this).

As always, thanks for you help,

--
Sean
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,264 Views)
Sean,

It is possible to use LabVIEW to communicate with your WonderWare HMI using DDE. I would actually suggest you take a look at the Application Note: Using DDE in LabVIEW (Windows Only). I hope this is useful for you!

Mike
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,249 Views)
Hi Sean

Sorry i cant help on your quest, I am new to wonderware.  I would be extremely grateful if you could possibly help me.  I am currently trying very hard to read wonderware tags from within a vb application and am having no luck what so ever.   Any help   I would appreciate any help advice or example code on here to to mail.  my alias at hotmail co uk

i have tried using object.linktopic = VIEW|tagname and object.linkitem = $second for example

all i get is no foreign application responded to a dde initiate. run time error 282

Thanks Sean

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(3,228 Views)

Good day,

That's the thing.  I'm new to WW aswell.  I don't know how you get WW to start listening for DDE communication.  The project I've been tasked with envolves replacing our WW with LV, so I have had a need to figure that part out.  I tried poking through my existing WW setup put have found nothing useful for you.  If I can figure something out, I'll definitely let you know.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 6
(3,223 Views)

Hi Sean

Thanks for your help anyway.  Its always good to get a reply and find i am not on my own!