cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading a spreadsheet and do something according to its value

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello, 

i need to read a table in a spreadsheet with boolean and then accordingly to the value of the table, do some actions (if 1) or don't do any action (if 0). So i guess i need to send the spreadsheet into an array and then loop into the array elements, read them, and use the result as case input in a case structure. 

I am not a LabView expert though, so i don't know how to do it. Someone can help me? 

Thanks a lot 

stefania

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,075 Views)

What do you mean when you say spreadsheet?  Do you refer to an Excel file (.xls or .xlsx) or do you have your data stored in a CSV or text file (comma or tab delimited) that can be read into most spreadsheet programs? 

If you are working with Excel files, you'll want to use the Report Generation Toolkit, which is a toolkit offered by NI that, in the past was sold separately but I believe is now included as part of a professional license. 

If working with CSV, there is a VI on the File I/O palette called Read from Spreadsheet File that will read the file into an array, using the character that you specify as the delimiter (most often a comma). 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,043 Views)

Hi, thanks aputman, 

CSV is good for me. The problem is once i read the file into an array, how i can loop through it and use each element as a case input for a case structure. I am not sure if I was clear enough. I guess it must be pretty simple, but i am new to labview and i am struggling with it!

Thanks again for your time

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,040 Views)