LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ramp and Soak Program for Omega Temperature Controller

I currently have an Omega CNiD3244-C24 temperature controller connected to my computer. I have downloaded the plug and play driver for a CNi3244 which after minor modifications works well; however, it does not have a ramp and soak program embedded into it. The controller has a ramp and soak program that can be manually enabled, and the communications manual gives you the read and write codes for that setting. I am not very good with building the read and write programs from scratch, and I was wondering if anyone else has developed a program for this setting or something relatively close that could be modified for my system. 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,943 Views)

I have a few questions:

Are you trying to use LabVIEW to communicate with the temperature controller?

What type of communication does the controller expect?  Serial, GPIB?

Does the driver include LabVIEW VIs/function calls for developing your own code or is it dependent on the commands you are sending via NI-VISA?

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,904 Views)

Yes I am trying to use Labview to communicate with the controller, and I am using Serial. Also, the driver comes with VI/functions that can be used to write your own program. It comes with a prebuilt VI, an omega read and write VI, and a serial read VI. 

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,892 Views)

If you are trying to write a serial command in order to enable the ramp and soak feature you can likely use the VIs that were supplied by the driver or use the VISA examples built into LabVIEW.  This can be found in LabVIEW by navigating to Help >> Find Examples >> Hardware Input and Output >> Serial >> Simple Serial.  This will allow you to write a message to your Com port.  

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(3,849 Views)