cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RS232 Communication with Agilent 34970A

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey everyone,

I'm currently trying to communicate with an Agilent DAQ using a USB-RS232 Interface with FTDI chipset. I can get as far as *IDN? but any other SCPI commands don't work over the RS232 interface for some reason, writing but not generating a read signal. Eventually it generates an error 103 on the instrument, which the guidance in the manual says "-103 Invalid Separator" even if I'm putting in the command SYST:TIME? just to gauge if commands are working.

Has anybody ever encountered this sort of error before? This is my first time working with an RS232 interface instead of GPIB, but I think I'm set up correctly. Both settings on the DAQ and in NI MAX match up, and I checked the interface but shorting he interface pin 2 to 3 to check if it's reading wrong, so that's working correctly.

Thank you in advance,

Anthony

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(16,312 Views)

Hmmm I use these all the time serial and GPIB but haven't seen that error.

To start off the 34970A needs a null modem cable, but since you are getting an error response I take it you are using the right cable.

What about your serial settings? I have found that when using baud rates over 9600 you have to use a proper null modem cable with all the hand shaking lines and use RTS/CTS flow control, not Xon/Xoff

Also the serial cable that comes with the 34970A is NOT a "proper cable" as it does not have the hand shaking lines only Rx, Tx, and ground.

Now I have to ask why you are tying to use the SCPI commands? 

As the Instrument Driver for the 34970A is well written and  complete 

http://sine.ni.com/apps/utf8/niid_web_display.download_page?p_id_guid=014F4CD7EF78136AE0440003BA7CCD...

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
Message 2 of 18
(16,279 Views)