LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Queued Message Handler: how to get a Subvi to continuously run while the queue goes on.

Hello,

I am still somewhat new to Labview and currently writing a program that utilizes the Queued Message Handler for automation. When the user presses the "start test" button on the main VI, a message is sent that closes some relays. Once the relays are closed, a message is sent calling a subVI that, when called, opens its front panel and steadly increases the RPM of a DC motor until it reaches synchronous speed.

Once it's at synchronous speed, a true value is sent to the stop condition in subVI's loop and the front panel closes, and the next message is sent, which calls a second subVI.  In order for my program to function correctly, when this second subVI executes, the DC motor must still be running at synchronous speed.

The issue I am having is that once the first subVI finishes executing and a message is sent to the second subVI, the speed of the motor does not stay constant and starts to decrease.  I would like for the first subVI to continue running so the motor will stay at synchronous speed.  How can this be accomplished? Any help or input is greatly appreciated. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(4,390 Views)

You could try the 'Start Asynchronous Call' vi from the Application Control palette. The help text gives details and links to a couple of examples.

However, you might also want to consider modifiying the architecture so that an async call is not necessary - for example an extra 'motor control' loop that you can send messages to (on another queue or via an FG) to spin up and control the motor and later spin it down. The code that does this can still be contained in a sub-vi to keep your diagram neat.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(4,364 Views)

Sorry, I meant to push Quote, and pushed Post, by mistake.  Let's start over...