From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Queue: one producer vs multiple consumers

Hi,

This may be a simple question. In my application, I have a master/multiple slaves queue architecture. So the master enqueues messages. Each message is adressed to only one slave. Since all the slaves are waiting after queue elements, they all should receive the message and all dismiss it but one, the destinator. Apparently, it is not working like that. Once the message is dequeued by a slave, it is no more available in the queue and the others are not notified. Is that right?

I could use a seperate queue for each slave, but when it comes to be 100 slaves, I find it a but heavy to manage hundred queues. I tried instead to do a router-like architecture. Everyone is listening and for each message they all verify who is the destinator. Only the destinator processes the message and the other ones simply dismiss it. Is there a way for me to implement that?
Joe
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(5,030 Views)
A quick answer is to use preview rather than dequeue.  If you dequeue it the item is out of the queue so nobody else can get it.  Preview is more like a peek, and if its yours then dequeue it.
Message 2 of 16
(5,022 Views)
Joe,