From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about setting up potentiomenter.

OK, forgive me, I'm completely new to this. I used labview a coupl of times in school but it's been so long and now I have a big project on my plate. I've been researching but I just can't seem to put together the information I need. 

I have

1 NI cDAQ-9178

4 NI 9237

25 or so NI 9499 

25 or so RJ50 cords

Plus I will have a boat load of potentiometers and strain guages. 

I currently am trying this out with just one pot, for simplicity. 

I have to hook up the potentiometer to the 9499. Sounds simple, right? Wrong. Can't find any useful information! I don't know what to do. 

The eventual goal is for the potentiometers to measure variable resistance which we will use labview to "convert" to degrees that the pot has been turned. We're trying to measure range of motion in joints. Eventually we will have these all rigged to a harness on a human arm, then a human leg, then something to do with a goat....

She wants them to be able to be calibrated as well. 

So we're going to synchorinize data from the potentiometers, the strain guages, and our polhemus device and have them all match up in excel and hopefully make sense. 

So please, help me figure out how to wire this thing so that I can get started? I don't know if I'm supposed to use all 3 terminals on the pot even, and I don't know if it matters which wires go in which terminals of the 9499. 

Also if anybody wants to recommend good potentiometers and strain guages for this, I need them to have linearity of 1% or less, multi or single turn, low resistance to movement... I don't even know what ohm range would be good.... 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,120 Views)