LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about Actor Framework's Child/Parent execution and messaging dataflow

Let me preface this by saying I'm very new to AF.  Much of the inner workings are still somewhat of a mystery to me- I havent figured it all out yet.  There have been some situations already where the code appears to read like it's going to do one thing, but infact does something entirely different... this makes it really interesting haha, but my questions might sound really dumb.

My question spawns from my situation where I currently have an issue with three actors that shouldn't proceed (through a sequence of events) unless two of them are ready to do so... 

What I want to ask, is if the child actor is calling the parent actor (thats what it looks like to me), and it self enqueues something before launching the parent actor, that msg is not going to be dequeued until the parent actor vi actually executes within the child actor no?  And if I need some method of this actor's class to finish executing before it starts responding to other actor's msgs to it, can I just drop that method and wire the obj through before the parent actor is launched?

Thanks

-pat

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,867 Views)

The basic answer to your question is yes.

But we need to change a little bit of your explanation.

A Child Actor do not launch its parent.

In the "Actor Core.vi" in the child actor your call the parents implementation of that method.

The base of the Actor Framework is the Actor.lvclass. Its Actor Core.vi method has the function for reading and acting on incoming messages.

Every child of the Actor.lvclass can overwrite the Actor Core.vi to implement additional functions, but must always call its parents implementation of the vi.

If you want something to happen before your actor receives messages, then there are to possibilities.