LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quantity and Repetition of array

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm new to Labview and would like some assistance please.

I need to count quantity of a each item with duplicates in both. Meaning, if I have a 2D array:

Quantity       Item

1                  Tomato
2                  Tomato
3                  Tomato
1                  Apple
1                 Orange

I would like the resulting table to be:

6                   Tomato
1                    Apple
1                   Orange

I've figured out how to count duplicates of a single column, but I can't figure out how to incorporate the Quantity into it.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,835 Views)

What is the format of the File?  I'm assuming it is strings of the form "3 apple", i.e. a number and an item name, in separate lines.  I'm assuming that you can read this file and end up with an array of Strings, all of this form.

So look at the String -- it consists of a Number and a String.  Now look at the Scan from String function (I recommend always using this instead of the seemingly-simpler String Conversion functions).  It is designed to let you get (in this case) two outputs -- a number (3) and a string (apple).  Try that.  You'll end up with a single For loop inside of which is a single Scan from String function, and when you are done, you'll have two arrays, one of numbers and one of items (or, if you want, you could combine the Number and Item into a cluster, then you'd have an array of clusters).

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,824 Views)

Dear Rob,

Thank you for your response. You are correct, the input will be a 2D string. I plan to read two columns from an excel file. I've attached a simplified VI with the 2D string array that I will be using.