From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming Total Flow

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

This is my first time programming in LabVIEW and I am slowly grasping the concepts, but have found myself stuck on a (more than likely) very simple task. I have two flowmeters hooked up in series that I am recieving flow rates from, I then take the average of the two for better accuracy with our readings, and display that value on the front panel.

Here's where I start having issues. The flow through the meters is not continuous, we will turn the flow off and on multiple times throughout our tests. As of right now that is fine and I only see my average flow when the meter is on and 0.0 when there is no flow, since it is recording constantly. Albeit, now I need to display the total volume that passed through the flowmeter during it's operation.

So for example, we turn on the flow (draw) at 3.0 GPM for 0:02:30 then the output would read 7.5 gallons and would reset that total to 0.0 before the next draw began. So in principle we would only see the total for each set of draws. Although, it would be useful to also keep a running total of the overall volume drawn during the entire test.