From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programmatically changing the TCP/IP address of Windows Vista / 7 / 8

Hi there!

I'm pretty new to LabVIEW (started 2 months ago) and still have a long way ahead of me, so please forgive me if anything that I ask is too basic.

I'm trying to change the IP properties of the PC via LabVIEW for some bigger software I'm working on.

I can easily do it in Windows XP using the System Exec function to call cmd.exe and then use netsh commands, as previously explained for example here:

But then, since I want to run my software in Windows 7 (& by extension to any Windows OS), I have a problem: netsh asks for elevated rights.

So, the next problem is: how do I run cmd.exe (or any other programm?, by extension) as administrator (from LabVIEW)?. Note that I'm using an account with admin rights. But I would prefer not having to disable the User Account Control configuration, and I don't want to force the user to any interaction (clicking in pop-ups, or right-clicking in anything), I want it to be as automatized as possible.

I did a bit of research and couldn't find anyway to do it, neither any command to run with cmd, so the two similar solutions that came to my mind are very rudimentary and kind of dirty: