LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producer Consumer Event Structure with Continuous Display

Turns out that I was programming the supplies with a current limit of 0.  Doh!    Though, I learned something from all the suggestions on structure and good practices.   Thanks to all that posted suggestions.   I would still like to incorporate the 3rd while loop into the queue structure.  Aputman, I need to study your layout I'm trying to figure out how the first loop continuously runs.  I'm still a novice when it comes to queuing structures.  Thanks. 

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 16
(847 Views)

How does a current limit of 0 stop your UI from responding?

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 12 of 16
(838 Views)

Technically, I was still able to press buttons and update the voltage setting, so I wasn't totally locked out.  It is just that the current and voltage readings were always zero no matter what change that I made.  With a zero current limit, the voltage reading will also stay at zero.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 13 of 16
(836 Views)

Gotcha. 

In regards to your comment about the third loop, with your code as posted, there is no reason to use a queue because you are only displaying the data.  If you want to store the data or act on it in any way, then you might want to use a queue to move the data to your consumer loop to handle those actions and keep the display updating without those delays. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
0 Kudos
Message 14 of 16
(833 Views)

I do plan to have a file log of the voltage and current readings taken at a regular frequency...once every 10 seconds or so.  In this case, you think putting it into a consumer loop would be beneficial?

0 Kudos