From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problems when trying to move 3 stepper motors

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am having problems when I try to build a program to control 3 stepper motors.

I have 3 steeper motors and the controller (3 SMCP33 + SMCP33-EVA) from nanotec.com they provide also a Vi example to control one motor that works successfully but the problems come up when I try to adapt the program to try to run the 3 motors. The final application for that is going to be a Cartesian robot XYZ so eventually I will need to program coordinates to move the 3 motors.

I am new in LabVIEW so what I am doing is trying to adapt the nanotec example to control the 3 motors doing the following.

- I assign each motor a different address, doing that I can run each motor separately. But when I try to run 3 programs at the same time, they work but all of them move the same motor (the first that was run).

- If I try to do a kind of subVi the same thing happens, only one motor is driven.

- Furthermore,  I get back a warning when I try this, I enclose a screenshot of that.

I enclose the Vi and screeshots to enhance my description.

I woul be grateful if someona can aport some help.

Regards.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,417 Views)

How does the controller know which motor to run? I do not see anything in the Motor1 VI which looks like an address or motor selector.

Lynn

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,397 Views)

Hello johnsold,