LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem Sharing Variables between 2 machines

I am having problems trying to create a project that would share variables between multiple computers. I am using Labview 8.2.1 (I am new to 8.2.1 and Shared Variable).

here is what i did:
1. I created the project with Client and Server VI's and a library containing shared variables, which both of them call
2. I placed this project onto 2 computers (XP on a local workgroup, no firewall, see each other).
3.  On one of the computers I bound all shared variables to their counterparts on the other computer

The system is "almost working"

The problems are:
- I initially used wrong type variables for few items. I then modified the variables in both VI's and Shared Variable libraries and repeated the Steps 1-3 above.
But the sysrtem has some sort of a buffer somwhere, because it keeps bringing the old types of shared variables back (when I monitor them using Shared Variable Monitor).
- When I do binding to source, the system shows wrong variable types (for example DBL instead of U8).
- It takes almost a second to write and read shared variable (my network is quite fast)

I saw that the Labview Example with Server and multiple Clients uses 2 sets of shared variable and they bind - separate sets (different names) fro client and server within the same project. Do I have to do this or is this done just to simplify bindinga nd future distribution?

Is there a buffer/setup/file that I need to clear to get rid of "old" shared variable assignements? (I tried undeploy/deploy - does not help...)

Thank you very much,

Gleb.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,383 Views)

Hi Gleb,