From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Private, Community, Friends, Romans, Countrymen

Solved!
Go to solution

LV2013, Win7

I'm just getting into using FRIENDS as a scope, and am having some trouble.

I have a "manager" VI, which is a WHILE LOOP with uninitialize Shift Registers to remember some data, and a CASE structure inside it.

There is a MANAGER FUNCTION control, an enum with entries like INIT, SHUT DOWN, CONFIG, DO THIS, DO THAT, DO OTHER.

The FUNCTION input controls which case inside the WHILE loop executes.

The manager has several input and output terminals.  One function might need terminals A and D, another function needs terminals B and C, etc.

The manager, and all its support VIs are in an LVLIB, which gets built into a LVLIBP (PPL).

My host program used the manager PPL and all is well.

HOWEVER

Now we introduce an ADDON.  An ADDON is a separate PPL containing a class which is descended from a master ADDON class. Addons might be written by me, or by the customer.

The addons can access this manager, and command it to do things.

This all works well, too.

BUT

The addons have access to the WHOLE repertoire of manager functions.  If one of them mistakenly calls INIT, then the manager forgets about stuff it's supposed to remember, and bad things happen.

So, I THINK i want to divide up the manager PPL like this:

1... Most of the manager sub functions are PRIVATE.  Invisible to the outside world.

2... the manager VI itself, and the FUNCTION enum with it, are COMMUNITY scope.  As I understand it, they are only visible to items WITHIN the library, and to friends of the library.