LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Populating an Array with measurements

I am currently working on my second LabVIEW VI, and have run into a snag.  The software will be to test the resistance of printed resistors, with several on a panel.  I would like to be able to take the resistance of each resistor, and write the resistance reading to a spreadsheet with one sheet per row.  In the VI,  the value of "Sites" is the number of parts on a sheet.  Array 2 is taking the place of the write function.  I am currently unable to get each reading to cycle into the array in the way that I would like. 

I'm fairly certain that I am overlooking/overthinking this as it's not all that complex.  Any comments on my code would also be welcome, as being a beginner I'm sure there are several things that could be improved upon.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(5,220 Views)
  • Do not maximize the front panel and diagram to the screen
  • Your VI uses 100% of a CPU core when not doing anything, spinning the loop as fast as the computer allows (would drain the battery quickly on a laptop!).
  • It would probably make more sense top open the VISA session once at the beginning outside the loop and close it after the program has completed. Creating and closing a VISA session every nanosecond (even in idle mode) seems ill advised.
  •  You have a lot of duplicate code (e.g. all the VISA "trains"). Once instance of that code is probably sufficient.
  • Instead of stacks and stacks of case structures and while loops, use a proper state machine (one loop, one case structure)
  • In the middle you build an array with two elements and immediately index out the second element. Wouldn't it make more sense to just branch from the scalar wire?
  • There is an "in range?" function, that could replace both comparisons.
  • You are way overusing local variables.
  • What's the purpose of the last inner FOR loop with the uninitialized shift register?