cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plotting different data types in one XY Graph

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi there,

I am new to LabVIEW (and thus also to this forum), so forgive me if I ask something trivial, but I just can't solve it myself and I haven't been able to find the answer on the internet either.

In short: I am trying to plot a cluster of x- and y-location integer arrays (that can change in length over time), which should be plotted as a line, together with a single point (that changes location over time), of which I have the x- and y-location available as doubles, in one single XY Graph. This all happens within a while loop, and the values of the arrays and the doubles can change within this while loop, which should be plotted immediately in the XY Graph as well.

A little bit explanation: to get familiar with LabVIEW, I wanted to make a Snake game (you know, the game that used to be on all Nokia mobile phones). I've gotten pretty far, as I am now able to plot the snake moving through the XY Graph, and manipulating its movement with four (OK) buttons (up, down, left, right) on the front panel. It even becomes longer when it "eats" a "candy", adding a term to the integer array (blue bold line in the block diagram) describing the locations of the nodes of the snake. The arrays for x- and y-direction are clustered using a bundle-block, and are then fed to the XY Graph input. This all happens within a while loop that runs until the snake hits one of the borders of the graph or bites its own tail, in which case the loop is terminated ("game over").