LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plotting: Different Data Types with Timestamps

Hi Everyone,

I have a dataset of different datatypes, with time stamps. Each time stamp has only one value for a single data type.

**See attached picture. I wish to plot these on top of each-other, each datatype in a different plot color. 

I have attempted various ways by searching the forums, and I have found a couple posts which are similar, but I am always having trouble getting my bundles to work right, I am advanced with LV, but I am a novice with bundles, it seems to always want to force to be a string output, which is not what I desire.

I wish to see the effects one one datatype on another by plotting them together, but the key is not each timestamp has data for all types, the attached picture makes it pretty clear.

Is this possible in LV? I prefer not to artificially pad zeros as this will cause confusion in analyzing effect.

Thanks Everyone!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 15
(3,367 Views)

See this nugget written by Tim teaching us how to use a Waveform data type in a chart. The Waveform data type includes a time stamp and when presented to a chart, the "t0" will be used to plot the data.

I have been using that since LV 6i and it works great for situations where the data collected is not all coming it at the same time/rate etc.

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 15
(3,344 Views)

And in this old thread I posted an example to show the timestamps do not all have to be the same or periodic.

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 15
(3,333 Views)

Hi Ben,