LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Please help this poor girl with a Gaussian fit

Hello everybody,

It's my first time here, I'm pretty new at using Labview and English is my second language so I hope you guys don't judge me too much xD.

My professor wants to make a program that analyses a laser beam in real time using a USB camera. We've developed the following program (that uses the "Image Processing" library and recquires a USB camera). This program shows the line profile on the left, and what my professor wants is to adjust that profile with a Gaussian fit. I have no clue about how I can do that.

I came here because I've searched a lot and everything seemed so advanced. Maybe my case is simpler, or not, but in anyway I need help 😕

Thanks in advance,
Luiza

PS: I'm not with the laser right now so I can't take a print screen of the program running, but when you get the image of the laser beam with this program you get a pattern in the line profile that looks pretty much like a gaussian curve, that's why we need the fit!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(4,034 Views)

Press CTRL + Space on your keyboard and type in Gaussian.  See if one of those VIs does what you need.  Not sure what a Gaussian Fit is so i am only guessing. Smiley Wink

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
Message 2 of 12
(4,023 Views)

Hi!

http://zone.ni.com/reference/en-XX/help/371361H-01/gmath/gaussian_peak_fit/

This VI should be enough, but you should define initial guess parameters, therefore you need to extract that information from your line profile waveform. If you have sound and vibration toolkit, there's peak search function, that will help you get initial peak amplitude, and its position position, also there's standard deriviation VI that you can use. There is also peak detector in standard package (correct me if I'm wrong).