LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Periodically Extract Payload from CANBus Frames using cRIO in FPGA mode

Hi All,

I am new to LabVIEW and NI products and I'm trying to accomplish the following (I expected this to be simple to do!):

I have a bunch of CAN devices (let's say 12 of them) and I'd like to periodically read data from them. To do so, I write a certain frame (as specified in one of the device's datasheets) to set them all in operational mode. I only need to this once. To read data, I have to write a frame requesting the data and then read the frame I receive, and extract its payload. I set the bus speed to the maximum possible which is 1 Mbit/sec. I think each frame has around 109 bits max (based on the datasheet too), so my expectation is that 250 microsecond is more than enough for one request and receive operation.

Since I am using cRIO9022 (cRIO-9114 chassis) and a NI 9853 CAN module, I was not able to run in scan mode, which seems to be easier to do from the tutorials I saw. I had to run in FPGA mode, and so I used the section 5 in the following tutorial: http://www.ni.com/tutorial/11198/en/ combined with code from "CAN Basic (FPGA).vi" example code to come up with something. I have no problem sending and receiving the frames I want and extracting data, but I'm having trouble writing data to a file using a fixed sample rate and in real-time.

I have two files, the first runs on the FPGA target. It continuously runs, requesting data from the 12 elements, extracting data from the received frames and writing that to a FIFO once I read from all 12 devices. What I'm trying to do in my code is to only spend 250 microseconds to do a request/read operation. I don't know if I implemented correctly, and I'm not sure if the hardware is actually reading every 250 microseconds although I expect it to. I'm not sure how to debug that either.