LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Performance of Modbus using DSC Shared Variables

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm fairly new at using Modbus with LabVIEW.  Out of the roughly dozen tools and API's that can be used, for one project I'm working on I decided to try using Shared Variables aliased to Modbus registers in the project, which is a DSC tool.  It seemed like a clever way to go.  I've used Shared Variables in the past, though, and am aware of some of the issues surrounding them, especially when the number of them begins to increase.  I'll only have about 120 variables, so I don't think it will be too bad, but I'm beginning to be a bit concerned...

The way I started doing this was to create a new shared variable for every data point.  What I've noticed since then is that there is a mechanism for addressing multiple registers at once using an array of values.  (Unfortunately, even if I wanted to use the array method, I probably couldn't.  The Modbus points I am interfacing to are for a custom device, and the programmer didn't bother using consecutive registers...)  But in any case, I was wondering what the performance issues might be surrounding this API.

I'm guessing that:
1) All the caveates of shared variables apply.  These really are shared variables, it's only that DSC taught the SV Engine how to go read them.  Is that right?

And I'm wondering:

2) Is there any performance improvement for reading an array of consecutive variables rather than reading each variable individually?

3) Are there any performance issues above what shared variables normally have, when using Modbus specifically?  (E.g. how often can you read a few hundred Modbus points from the same device?)

Thanks,

DaveT

-------------------------------------------------------------
David Thomson Original Code Consulting
www.originalcode.com
National Instruments Alliance Program Member
Certified LabVIEW Architect
Certified Embedded Systems Developer